Stages Of Sleep

The Stages Of Your Sleep

You go through different stages of sleep:

Stage 1 is when you drift off to sleep.

Stage 2 is slightly deeper sleep.

And stages 3 and 4 are the deep "non-REM" sleep we talked about in the previous page about slow waves sleep.

You also experience "REM" sleep which is when you dream. REM sleep comes on in short periods of gradually increasing length. A 'normal' person spends about 25% of the night in REM (Rapid Eye Movement) sleep.

So now that we know about the stages of sleep you go through when you sleep, lets take a closer look at your "deep sleep"...


Category: Symptom : stages of sleep, REM, sleep regarding Chronic Fatigue Syndrome (CFS) and Fibromyalgia

Back to top of 'Stages Of Sleep' page